New & Recommended

My Stuff

More Than Books

small text medium text large text

Read-Alike: Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother

This list includes books that delve into the lives of Chinese immigrants adapting to Western culture, as well as titles that analyze parenting styles.

 

Yeh Yeh's House
PS3553.H276 Z477 2004

As a Chinese-American growing up in Virginia, Chao's grandfather, an eminent poet and philosopher still living in China, was the source of her strength and comfort. After his death, she traveled to China and found a country in conflict, struggling to find its place in the world.

 

Pressured Parents, Stressed-Out Kids: Dealing with Competition While Raising a Successful Child
HQ755.8.G752 2008

Readers looking to further explore a strict parenting style may be interested in this title. Well-organized chapters offer tips, insights, and anecdotes, making an entertaining guide to navigating the stress of high-pressure parenting.

 

Punished by Rewards: The Trouble with Gold Stars, Incentive Plans, A's, Praise, and Other Bribes
BF505.R48 K65 1993

If you are wondering whether Americans are too soft on their children, and what really motivates people to perform to their highest capacity, try this highly-readable book. Kohn looks at the research for many different kinds of incentive programs, from grades to pay-for-performance programs, and argues for a different approach that might actually work.

 

Reviving Ophelia: Saving the Selves of Adolescent Girls
HQ798.P57 1994

This is a classic work on the psychological and physical threats to girls entering puberty. Pipher shows us how to help girls weather this time and grow up to be strong, confident women.

 

Positive Pushing: How to Raise a Successful and Happy Child
HQ769.T2792 2002x

This book provides a slightly more gentle approach to over-parenting, with tips for pushing your children without breaking their spirit

 

Bad Mother: A Chronicle of Maternal Crimes, Minor Calamities, and Occasional Moments of Grace
PS3573.A42124 Z46 2009

In graceful prose, Waldman explores her successes and failures raising four children with her husband, writer Michael Chabon. She shows an honest vulnerability in essays about ordinary struggles like breastfeeding and playground dynamics, and more controversial topics such as genetics, her decision to abort, ramifications of teaching hope in humanity, and the idea of justice.