All Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh locations will be closed on Sunday, April 20.

New & Recommended

My Stuff

More Than Books

small text medium text large text

Read-Alikes: Bossypants

Before or after Tina Fey's book, see if one of these titles tickles your funny bone . . .

 

Crazy Salad: Some Things About Women
HQ1154.E6 1975

For a bit of recent historical perspective on women's humor, have a look at this early Ephron work. Though there are newer editions, stick with the 1975 first edition for the best stuff. Both Bossypants and Crazy Salad offer hilarious memoir writing as well as biting feminist commentary.

 

Sh*t My Dad Says
PS3608.A5488 Z46 2010x

Because you're going to love Tina Fey's father and may want more than just a chapter, meet another great and noble man.

 

Full Frontal Nudity: The Making of an Accidental Actor
PN2287.H1785 A3 2010

This witty memoir from one of the most recognizable male television actors of the 1980s is full of stories about his childhood and early adulthood, including how he became an actor. But it doesn't contain the usual mud-slinging and backstabbing tell-all tales of most books of this ilk. Instead, you will hear Harry's story in his voice with all the humility and humor the anecdotes deserve.

 

Autobiography of a Fat Bride: True Tales of a Pretend Adulthood
PS3614.O785 Z463 2003

Starting with a litany of failed romances that began in fifth grade, Laurie Notaro tells the painful, hilarious, and sometimes disgusting truth of dating, marriage, and everything in between.

 

We Thought You Would Be Prettier: True Tales of the Dorkiest Girl Alive
PS3614.O785 Z478 2005

Hilarious perspective on all things crazy-making: St. Patrick's Day, e-mail spam, customer "service." If you have no sense of humor, turn back immediately.

 

Mr. Funny Pants
PN2287.S374 A3 2011

A memoir of sorts by the offbeat comedian and star of The State and Michael & Michael Have Issues.

 

The Bedwetter: Stories of Courage, Redemption, and Pee
PN2287.S383 A3 2010x

Not for the easily-offended, this memoir by a brazen comedian describes Silverman's experiences as a Jewish girl growing up in New Hampshire, as an outsider in general, and in particular, as a woman comedian in a male-dominated profession.