All Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh locations will be closed on Monday, September 1.

New & Recommended

My Stuff

More Than Books

small text medium text large text

Read-Alike: Heads in Beds: A Reckless Memoir of Hotels, Hustles, and So-Called Hospitality

So, you want to know what goes on behind-the-scenes. Do you really?? Are you sure??

 

Kitchen Confidential: Adventures in the Culinary Underbelly
TX649.B58 A3 2000a

This is the classic, the one that sort of started it all for the restaurant whistle-blowing books. After reading this, you'll wonder how Tony was able to cook at all. Warning: only read this book if you REALLY want to know who is cooking your food in those fancy restaurants - but you might be better off not knowing . . . (Melissa, First Floor-New & Featured, Main)

 

Cooked: From the Streets to the Stove, from Cocaine to Foie Gras
HV5805.H37 A3 2007

By the time Jeff Henderson was old enough to legally drink alcohol, he had sold enough cocaine to land himself in federal prison. He used his time there to become a chef, found work despite being a felon, and began serving a new type of customer - upscale diners instead of violent addicts. (Rita, First Floor-New & Featured, Main)

 

Plane Insanity: A Flight Attendant's Tales of Sex, Rage, and Queasiness at 30,000 Feet
HD8039.A43 H47 2001

We all remember the JetBlue flight attendant who cursed his passengers, then swiped a beer as he made a swift departure via the emergency exit. You probably won't blame him after you read Hester's tell-all of screaming babies, absurd customer demands, and Mile High Club wannabes. (Rita, First Floor-New & Featured, Main)

 

The Blue Bistro

Adrienne Dealey has decided to plant her roots in Nantucket after spending years hopping from hotel job to hotel job in exotic locales. Anxious to make some money, she takes the only job she is offered, at the most popular restaurant in Nantucket, which happens to be owned by Thatcher Smith, the hottest guy in town. Despite its success, the restaurant plans to close at the end of the season. Can Adrienne figure out why and convince Thatcher to keep the restaurant open? (Sheila, Main Library)

 

Malled: My Unintentional Career in Retail
HF5438.25.K447 2011

"We all have to sell ourselves," writes Kelly, but she didn't fully understand those words until she lost her position as a journalist and became a retail associate at a North Face at the age of 50. She was grateful for a job, until she discovered how customers and corporations alike could abuse her self-worth, not to mention her aching body. (Rita, First Floor-New & Featured, Main)

 

Cruising Attitude: Tales of Crashpads, Crew Drama, and Crazy Passengers at 35,000 Feet
HD8039.A432 U667 2012x

Wacky customers, drunks, schemers, hellish coworkers, and more populate this memoir of a veteran flight attendant. Add in do-or-die training, mind-numbing hours, cramped quarters - both on the ground and in the air - and you may wonder why anyone does this job. (Kaarin, Downtown & Business)

 

Yes, Chef: A Memoir
TX649.S226 A3 2012

Born in Ethiopia, adopted by a Swedish family, and winner of the first Top Chef crown, Marcus Samuelsson takes readers on a journey from training in some of Europe's toughest kitchens to the trials of building a restaurant in New York City. (Jess, Woods Run)

 

Behind Bars: The Straight-Up Tales of a Big-City Bartender
TX950.5.W45 A3 2003

After years of slinging drinks in the Big Apple, Wenzel can't bottle up her stories of insufferable drunks, vomiting customers, and philandering men any longer. She lets loose in this expose, but she also teaches us how to be more understanding when we take a seat on the barstool. (Rita, First Floor-New & Featured, Main)