All Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh locations will be closed on Sunday, April 20.

New & Recommended

My Stuff

More Than Books

small text medium text large text

Read-Alikes for Life After Life by Kate Atkinson

If you enjoyed the historical fiction or time-bending aspects of Life After Life, then try one of these. . .

 

My Name Is Memory

Two lovers, Daniel and Sophia, are continually reincarnated and meet in new places throughout the centuries. Their deep romance is troubled, though: while Daniel remembers his past lives, Sophia believes her name is Lucy and doesn't recognize the man who keeps stepping into her life. (Rita, First Floor-New & Featured, Main)

 

Kindred

If you were sent back in time, what might you do to alter history? Dana is a young, African American woman who gets thrown back to a Maryland plantation during slavery. There she rescues a young white child, while her life becomes more and more endangered. (Kaarin, Downtown & Business)

 

Every Day

Ever since he can remember, "A" has woken up in the body of a different person each morning. To avoid causing any alarm, he strives to live every day as if he really is the person that he inhabits. He has been successful in not interrupting any of their daily routines - until he meets Rhiannon. (Tim, Knoxville)

 

Daytripper

While Kate Atkinson is exploiting the various possible fates of an individual against the common landscape of the 20th-century to more fully appreciate that historical experience, Moon & Ba contrast Atkinson's meditations by utilizing the same literary device of repeatedly killing off their main character (at the conclusion of each of the ten chapters of Daytripper) for the opposed exploration of personal meaning in a world of forking paths. (Miguel, First Floor-New & Featured, Main)

 

The Time Traveler's Wife

Henry and Clare seem like any other married couple in love. However, Henry's trips back and forth through time - caused by a genetic anomaly over which he has no control - make their relationship somewhat challenging. Will appeal to readers who appreciated the non-linear time narrative of Life After Life. (Leigh Anne, Reference Services, Main)

 

Green Darkness

When a wealthy woman falls for her family's chaplain in sixteenth-century England, the results are disastrous. Through reincarnation, the couple is able to re-emerge and marry in 1960s England, though not without confusing consequences. (Rita, First Floor-New & Featured, Main)

 

Code Name Verity

Unable to withstand torture by the Gestapo, a captured spy tells all. "All," however, might not be what her captors expect. A complex tale with several narrative surprises, this book will appeal to readers who enjoyed the historical setting and surprise twists in Life After Life. (Leigh Anne, Reference Services, Main)

 

The Hanging Garden

Like Life after Life, The Hanging Garden is a fresh, original take on historical fiction. Set in WWII Australia, the title follows the relationship of two teens whose lives have been ravaged in Europe's tragic battles. They meet far away from the theater of war and forge a multi-faceted and genuine friendship. (Holly, First Floor-New & Featured, Main)