All Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh locations will be closed on Monday, September 1.

New & Recommended

My Stuff

More Than Books

small text medium text large text

Read-Alike: The Psychopath Test

Can you be sure the person you just spoke with isn't hiding an antisocial personality disorder? Truth is, you can't. These books, though, might help make spotting a psychopath easier.

 

The Social Animal: The Hidden Sources of Love, Character, and Achievement
HQ801.B76 2011

Brooks takes a page from the philosophical writings of Jean-Jacques Rousseau and explores human social behavior using a fictional couple, Harold and Erica, as his example. Running the gamut from communication and courtship behavior to social and professional success, Brooks shows how the irrational, emotional parts of our brain are more influential than we realize when it comes to our personal interactions.

 

Sex, Murder, and the Meaning of Life: A Psychologist Investigates How Evolution, Cognition, and Complexity Are Revolutionizing Our View of Human Nature
BF311.K386 2011

Drawing on his own research and family history, Kenrick tackles the evolutionary reasons for human social success (generosity, artistic creativity, love) as well as failures (international conflicts, homicidal fantasies). Anything but dry and academic, this exploration is engaging, funny, and fascinating.

 

PSI Spies: The True Story of America's Psychic Warfare Program
BF1045.M55 M33 2007

Marrs gives an account of the history of U.S. military remote viewers, including their work psychically envisioning the Kremlin and probing Iraq for hidden weapons sites.

 

Bad Men Do What Good Men Dream: A Forensic Psychiatrist Illuminates the Darker Side of Human Behavior
RC555 .S57 2008

It's in all of us to commit evil deeds, but most of us don't. Chapters in this book examine why rapists, serial killers, stalkers, and psychopaths do what they do, how to spot them, and how to prevent yourself from becoming a victim.

 

The Anatomy of Evil
HV6080.S85 2009

A book only a true ghoul could love, this creepy page turner uses many case histories in an attempt to define and relegate evil to a scale with 22 levels.

 

The Sociopath Next Door: The Ruthless Versus the Rest of Us
RC555.S76 2005

A Harvard psychologist reveals that a shocking four percent of ordinary people—one in twenty-five—has an often undetected mental disorder.