eResources Especially for Kids
All resources are available both in the library and remotely.
Pairs classic video storybooks with related nonfiction books, offering an engaging way to link fact and fiction, reinforce early reading skills, and introduce children to a world of knowledge and exploration.
Browse or search only the children's titles available from OverDrive. Like the main site, which still includes all of the childrenâ€™s materials, the OverDrive for Kids page includes ebooks, eaudio and some evideos too.
TumbleBooks add animation, sound, music and narration to existing picture books, producing an electronic picture book which you can read or have read to you. You'll also find chapter books, math stories, puzzles and games, and videos. All content is available for PCs and Macs. Some content is also available for use on iPhones/iPads. To access, select "mobile" from the "Choose" menu in the top right corner.
Create your very own story using my StoryMaker. You control the characters and objects, my StoryMaker creates sentences for you or you can enter your own words. Once you are done with your story, you can print it out.
Interactive online language learning program for children. Learn English, French, Italian, German, Mandarin or Spanish, with more languages coming soon.
Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh children's librarians lead parents and their young children through a variety of rhymes and songs.
Got homework? Get online help every day from 3 pm to 10 pm from real tutors for grades 4th and up in English, math, science and history.
A virtual trip to the zoo for elementary school-aged children, with interactive information on over 1,200 animals.
Aimed at elementary and middle school-aged children, America the Beautiful includes "profiles" (biographies) of famous Americans.
Current and historic photos and graphics from the Associated Press.
Students and other information seekers will find articles, links to credible websites, images, maps and more through this collection of resources. Teacher's guides, lesson plans, worksheets, and other teaching resources are also available.
Authoritative articles and multimedia resources such as maps, panoramas, photographs and videos across all subject areas. Geared towards middle school-aged children.
Graphical interface for kids in grades K - 8. Searches content from Primary Search and Middle Search Plus.
Countries, cultures and current events of the world are examined in this resource intended for middle school and high school students.
Full text for a variety of popular middle school magazines. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays.
In-depth science, health and technology research and news of use and interest to middle school-aged children, teens and adults.
Information about more than 38,000 fiction titles of interest to students in grades K-8. Full text reviews from professional journals and book talks for selected titles are available in this database.
Contains the full-text for more than 80 of the most popular elementary school magazines. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Also, features Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, providing students with easy-to-read encyclopedic entries written specifically for kids.
Science Experiments and more. This database will not only help you find a science experiment but it will provide definitions, diagrams, facts, timelines and essays, too.
Animated, dinosaur-themed search interface for kids in grades K - 8. Searches content from Primary Search and Middle Search Plus.
Haven't found what you need?
Ask a Children's Librarian for more help.
For more fun and resources especially for kids visit our Kids Page