small text medium text large text

Biography & Genealogy
Research Databases

Logging on from home or work?

You can log into almost all of the databases listed below from outside the library using your library barcode number. If you don't have a library card, you may register for one online. Please make sure that you are accessing our site via this URL: http://www.carnegielibrary.org/.

Those databases specified with "No Remote Access" must be used from a computer inside the library. "Remote Access (CLP Card)" databases are only accessible with a Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh (CLP) library card. Click here if not a CLP cardholder.

Biography

African American Experience   Library Access   Remote Access
Full text information on African American history and culture.

 

Biography and Genealogy Master Index   Library Access   Remote Access
Comprehensive index to biographical reference works.

 

Biography Reference Bank (HW Wilson)   Library Access   Remote Access
Contains full text biographical articles from hundreds of reference sources. Includes citations for magazine articles (some are available in full text).

 

Biography Resource Center   Library Access   Remote Access
Comprehensive database of biographical information. Includes full text biographical articles from many popular magazines.

 

Contemporary Authors   Library Access   Remote Access
Biographical and critical articles on current writers of fiction, nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama, motion pictures and television.

 

Genealogy

Ancestry Library Edition   Library Access   NO Remote Access
A comprehensive source of information for conducting genealogical and local history research.

 

Footnote   Library Access
(Pennsylvania Department Only)
  NO Remote Access
A database of original source documents, relating to the Revolutionary War, Civil War, WWI, WWII, US Presidents, historical newspapers, naturalization documents, and many more.

 

Historic Pittsburgh   Available to Everyone
Search U.S. Census Schedules for the City of Pittsburgh (1850-1880) and Allegheny City (1850-1870), view images of historic Pittsburgh maps and photographs.