Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh - Main (Oakland) will close at 3 pm on Friday, May 2. Customers may pick up holds or return items at the main entrance until 5 pm or visit other CLP locations.
small text medium text large text

Business & Investing Databases

Library databases are searchable collections of up-to-date and accurate information from trusted sources such as encyclopedias, journals, reference books and other authoritative resources. The Library subscribes to these so you can access high-quality, reliable information for free.
Remote access is available for all databases except where otherwise noted.

Learn more...

Business & Investing

Company Information

Remote Access (CLP Card)
Search for information about businesses, jobs, and people. Ideal for developing sales leads, mailing lists, market research, employment opportunities, and more. Powerful search facets allow for very targeted results.
Remote Access (CLP Card)
Gauge the risks and rewards of potential investments by using this resource to locate detailed country data on business and trade, current economic climate, statistical rankings, and taxation. Discover whether to kiss, bow, or shake hands during key cross-cultural negotiations. Import or export with confidence after securing detailed trade-compliance information. Find data from the best international organizations-Ernst & Young, The World Bank, World Trade Organization, and others.
Business Insights: Global
NO Remote Access
This database is no longer available. Please use Business Source Premier or our other business databases instead. Questions or comments? Email info@carnegielibrary.org.
Comprehensive, full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, banking, and finance, including market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
Mobile App
Dun & Bradstreet's Million Dollar Database - Total U.S.
This database is no longer available. Please use AtoZdatabases or Mergent Intellect instead. Questions or comments? Email info@carnegielibrary.org.
Remote Access (CLP card)
Online versions of several business-related reference books: Brands and Their Companies, Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media, National Directory of Nonprofit Organizations and Trade Shows Worldwide.
Mobile App
Private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, and industry profiles.
NO remote access
Online Access to the complete contents of all back issues of the following Moody's or Mergent Manuals to 1909
Contains mutual fund and stock ratings and reports, including detailed analyst reports, from Morningstar Inc. Access is limited to six simultaneous users.
A searchable directory of the 1,400 Southwestern Pennsylvania member companies of the Pittsburgh Technology Council.
Remote Access (CLP Card)
  • U.S. Businesses: Information on 14 million U.S. Businesses
  • International Business: Profiles of 3 million international businesses with information from OneSource
  • New Businesses: Find newly registered businesses by date and location
  • U.S. Residential: Information on 135 million US households
Please contact Reference USA at 1.800.808.1113 if you have any problems accessing the database with your Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh library card.
Remote Access (CLP Card)
Online access to Standard & Poor's stock, bond and mutual fund research and reports plus the investment newsletter The Outlook. Also includes access to in-depth S&P Industry Reports [no remote access], Corporation Records and directories of corporations, their executives and securities dealers in North America.

>> More Business Resources...

Industry Information

Remote Access (CLP card)
Detailed information on national, international and regional associations.
Mobile App
Remote Access (CLP Card)
Gauge the risks and rewards of potential investments by using this resource to locate detailed country data on business and trade, current economic climate, statistical rankings, and taxation. Discover whether to kiss, bow, or shake hands during key cross-cultural negotiations. Import or export with confidence after securing detailed trade-compliance information. Find data from the best international organizations-Ernst & Young, The World Bank, World Trade Organization, and others.
Business Insights: Global
NO Remote Access
This database is no longer available. Please use Business Source Premier or our other business databases instead. Questions or comments? Email info@carnegielibrary.org.
Comprehensive, full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, banking, and finance, including market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
Mobile App
Private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, and industry profiles.
OnePetro is an online library of technical literature for the oil and gas exploration and production (E&P) industry and is maintained by the The Society of Petroleum Engineers. It contains more than 145,000 documents produced by 18 publishing partners. Access to OnePetro is available to the general public, and full-text articles can be obtained through arrangement with the Reference Services Dept. of Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh through e-mail (info@carnegielibrary.org) or phone (412.622.3175).
Remote Access (CLP Card)
Online access to Standard & Poor's stock, bond and mutual fund research and reports plus the investment newsletter The Outlook. Also includes access to in-depth S&P Industry Reports [no remote access], Corporation Records and directories of corporations, their executives and securities dealers in North America.
NO Remote Access
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is an annual one-volume, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic state of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web. This database replaces the print edition of the Statistical Abstract which is no longer published as a government document.
USA Trade Online (Limited Access*>
NO Remote Access
A sister website to STAT-USA by the U.S. Dept. of Commerce it provides U.S. import and export data on over 18,000 commodities.
*ONLY accessible in Downtown & Business and Reference Services in the Main Library in Oakland; fee-based offsite.

>> More Business Resources...

Investing

Contains mutual fund and stock ratings and reports, including detailed analyst reports, from Morningstar Inc. Access is limited to six simultaneous users.
Remote Access (CLP Card)
Online access to Standard & Poor's stock, bond and mutual fund research and reports plus the investment newsletter The Outlook. Also includes access to in-depth S&P Industry Reports [no remote access], Corporation Records and directories of corporations, their executives and securities dealers in North America.

>> More Business Resources...

Business Periodical Articles

Remote Access (CLP card)
From the rise and fall of drugs such as Thalidomide to the business of oil, the evolution of satellite technology to the emergence of the global economy, this is a rich account of technological advances, business strategies, company profiles, iconic executives and scientists, and much more. This unique reference is the ideal single source for information on the most important events, issues, and trends in the history of business and industry.
Applied Science & Business Periodicals Retrospective features:
Citations to more than 4.5 million articles from more than 2,000 periodicals.
Updated subject headings, ensuring that a search using either old or new search terms will return all the information on that subject.
Original subject headings to offer insight into the way the issues of the day were framed.
Mobile App
Business Insights: Global
NO Remote Access
This database is no longer available. Please use Business Source Premier or our other business databases instead. Questions or comments? Email info@carnegielibrary.org.
Comprehensive, full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, banking, and finance, including market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
Mobile App

>> More Business Resources...

Insurance Reports & Ratings

NO remote Access
CLP-Downtown & Business ONLY. Best's Library Center provides online access to A.M. Best insurance company ratings and Best's Insurance Reports. The database includes in-depth reports on thousands of U.S., Canadian and Non-U.S. insurers, reinsurers and groups.

>> More Business Resources...