Historic Pittsburgh
Available to anyone
A digital collection for Pittsburgh history, including full-text books, digital images & maps, census records, & a timeline.
Newspaper Archive
NO Remote Access
An historical newspaper database which contains newspapers from every state and 7 foreign countries- over 2,434 titles. The archive's newspapers date from 1759 to the present.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Full text of books that cover both sides of social issues.
Salem History
Salem History provides full-text digital access to primary source documents and reference resources from prehistory through the present day. Historical fields covered include religion, sports, American history, world history, and interdisciplinary biographies.
U.S. History in Context
One-stop source for U.S. history, including primary documents, full-text articles, images, maps and more.
The World Almanac for Kids Online
This online version of the World Almanac for Kids provides facts and statistics on many topics, including states, countries, animals, U.S. presidents, space, and more.
The World Almanac Online
This online version of the World Almanac provides facts and statistics on topics ranging from economics to pop culture, history to current events.
World History in Context
One-stop source for world history, including primary documents, full-text articles, images, maps and more.
Return to the top
Jobs & Careers
Career Cruising
Career profiles, assessment tools, and other career-related information.
Chronicle Career Library
NO Remote Access
The Chronicle Career Library provides comprehensive descriptions of more than 2,000 jobs. Each occupational brief includes information on the work performed, training, education or certifications needed, hours and earnings, and employment outlook.
Homework Help - Career Center
Live Homework Help has added a Career Center for 2010. Every weekday between 3 and 10 p.m., you can receive live, personalized assistance with resume writing, preparation for the GED and U.S. Citizenship Exam. Live Homework Help also offers a "Back to School" section for non-traditional students designed to help them return to the classroom. Visit the Skills Center anytime for printable practice tests for the GRE, MCAT, LSAT and other standardized tests.
Resume Maker
Step-by-step resume instruction, job search advice, and career information are available to you via the ResumeMaker portal. Users can create a free account to save document drafts and other career information. Also contains job and career-related video clips and tutorials.
Testing & Education Reference Center
Database of college, graduate & vocational schools that also offers test preparation & practice exams for high school, college entrance, professional certification and licensing, military, and civil service.
Return to the top
Kids' Resources
Access Pennsylvania Database
(Online Library Catalog)
Shared catalog for materials owned by most PA libraries, including school libraries.
AP Multimedia Archives
Current and historic photos and graphics from the Associated Press.
Live Homework Help
Got homework? Get online help from real tutors! Live Homework Help offers online tutoring for 4th grade to College level questions in English, Math, Science and Social Studies. Non-traditional students and adult learners can take advantage of essay writing, skills building, GED prep, and other tutoring services designed specifically for adults. To find out how it works, sign up for an account and click their "Check out our FAQs" link.
Every day from 3 pm to 10 pm!
Novelist K-8
Information about more than 38,000 fiction titles of interest to students in grades K-8. Full text reviews from professional journals and book talks for selected titles are available in this database.
Readers' Guide Select
Full-text database containing indexing, abstracting, and full text of 200 of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and Canada.
Science Online (Facts On File)
Science Experiments and more. This database will not only help you find a science experiment, but it will provide definitions, diagrams, facts, timelines, and essays, too.
SIRS Discoverer
Full-text articles and graphics from newspapers and magazines for elementary and middle school students.
TumbleBooks
TumbleBooks add animation, sound, music and narration to existing picture books, producing an electronic picture book which you can read or have read to you. TumbleBooks are created in flash animation and require the Adobe Flash Player Plugin.
The World Almanac for Kids Online
This online version of the World Almanac for Kids provides facts and statistics on many topics, including states, countries, animals, U.S. presidents, space, and more.
Return to the top
Languages
Mango Languages
Learn French, Chinese, Russian, Spanish, and a host of other languges, or improve your ESL skills, with Mango's interactive web-based lessons.
Overdrive
Overdrive also offers downloadable language programs.
To access the free software, set up an account, and browse the collection of available OverDrive titles visit http://acla.lib.overdrive.com/.
Return to the top
Literature
Academic OneFile
Need journal articles for a research paper, homework assignment, or professional / business project? Academic OneFile contains over 6,000 full-text articles from peer-reviewed sources, as well as more than 8,000 additional abstracts / citations. Additional materials include podcasts and transcripts from news outlets such as NPR, CNN, and CBC.
African American Experience
Full text information on African American history and culture.
Biographical and critical articles on current writers of fiction, nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama, motion pictures and television.
Literature Criticism Online
Literature Criticism Online provides more than 200,000 reprinted essays of both critical perspectives and in-depth contextual information needed to understand the social, political and historical implications of hundreds of literary works, writers and literary periods. These scholarly overviews and analysis are copied from the print editions of Gale's popular and authoritative Literary Criticism series, and are available in PDF format.
Literature Resource Center
Author information, literary criticism and plot summaries for authors from every age and literary discipline.
Naxos Spoken Word Library
Listen to streaming audio of adult and children's classic fiction, non-fiction, plays, and poetry.
You must use the log out button when exiting this database, or future log-ins may be unsuccessful.
NoveList
Includes fiction authors, titles and themes. Provides suggestions of books that are similar to those of a particular author or a certain title.
Oxford English Dictionary
NO Remote Access
Contains the complete text of the Oxford English Dictionary from its 20-volume Second Edition and its 3-volume Additions Series.
Salem Literature
Searchable literary criticism of selected authors and works. More titles added as they arrive. Current offerings include volumes on Toni Morrison and Jane Austen, and individual works by Tennessee Williams and Arthur Miller.
Theatre in Video
Explore 20th-century theatre history via this streaming video database. Contents include the complete BBC Shakespeare performances, live television broadcasts from the 1950s, experimental theatre of the 60s and 70s, important contemporary performances, and theatre documentaries.
Return to the top
Magazines
Academic OneFile
Need journal articles for a research paper, homework assignment, or professional / business project? Academic OneFile contains over 6,000 full-text articles from peer-reviewed sources, as well as more than 8,000 additional abstracts / citations. Additional materials include podcasts and transcripts from news outlets such as NPR, CNN, and CBC.
CUFTS
Built by Simon Frazer University, CUFTS allows you to look up a journal title, see in which databases it is indexed, and what the date ranges of full-text coverage, if any, are. Once you've found your databases, view our alphabetical list to see if the Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh subscribes.
JSTOR
NO Remote Access
Search full-text archives of many core scholarly journals, particularly in the humanities, social sciences & music.
MasterFILE Premier
Full text coverage of the most popular magazines and journals. Also includes many reference books, photographs and maps.
OmniFile Mega (HW Wilson)
Multi-disciplinary full-text database covering Art, Education, Social Science, the Humanities, Business, Science, Current Events, and more. Contains Indexing and Abstracting of 4000 journals, with Full Text from more than 2500 journals. Includes Full Text from 1995 forward, and Indexing from 1982 forward.
OmniFile Full Text Select (HW Wilson)
100% full-text multi-disciplinary database Art, Education, Social Science, the Humanities, Business, Science, Current Events, and more.
EBSCO EJS (Electronic Journal Service)
NO Remote Access
Citations, with some abstracts & full text, for approximately 200 scholarly journals.
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (HW Wilson)
For over 100 years, Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature has become the ultimate index of subjects in the popular press, has earned the trust of researchers at all levels, and has been hailed by Library Journal as one of the "50 Best Reference Sources for the Millennium." All the information from 44 Readers' Guide annuals in a single database that you can search easily and precisely; access to over 3 million article citations from approximately 375 leading magazines; many of the articles are peer reviewed.
Readers' Guide Select (HW Wilson)
Full-text database containing indexing, abstracting, and full text of 200 of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and Canada.
Return to the top
Music
Music Research
The Jazz Discography
Everything you need to know about virtually any jazz record ever released. The Jazz Discography gives you accurate, detailed information on over 100 years of recorded jazz in all genres.
JSTOR
NO Remote Access
Full-text archives of many core scholarly journals, particularly in the humanities, social sciences & music.
Music in Print
NO Remote Access
lists currently available printed music.
Music Index
Citations to articles appearing in music periodicals back to 1979. The Library owns paper copies of Music Index from 1949 - 1996.
Musicians and Composers of the Twentieth Century
Salem History provides online access to Musicians and Composers of the Twentieth Century.
Oxford Music Online
Includes The Oxford Dictionary of Music, Grove Music Online (includes the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, Grove Dictionary of Jazz and Grove Dictionary of Opera) and The Oxford Companion to Music.
Streaming Music and Music Videos
African American Song is now a part of American Song! To listen to historical recordings of African American music, visit American Song or Music Online Plus.
This site contains over 12,000 tracks (with more added regularly) that illustrate our country’s history through music. Songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children and many others are included. Of particular interest is the index by historical event.
Listen to classical music online
A new addition, this site aims to be one that “delivers the sounds of all regions from every continent.” Currently this constantly growing site features over 8,000 tracks of music from around the world.
DRAM Online
Digital Recordings of American Music
NO Remote Access
A scholarly resource of recordings, including liner notes and essays, from New World Records, Composers Recordings (CRI) and other labels such as Albany, Frog Peak, Mode, and XI.
Only available within the Main Library of the Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh
With over 130,000 tracks and featuring labels such as Fantasy and Prestige, Jazz Music Library is one of the largest collections of streaming jazz online.
Explore all of our Alexander Street Press music databases via the Music Online Plus interface. This portal lets you search and use materials from American Song, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music, and Smithsonian Global Sound without having to jump from database to database.
Listen to classical, jazz and world music online.
You must use the log out button when exiting this database, or future log-ins may be unsuccessful.
Listen to streaming audio of jazz music.
You must use the log out button when exiting this database, or future log-ins may be unsuccessful.
Opera in Video allows library cardholders to watch opera on demand and free of charge. This frequently updated database contains streaming video of great operas from the Baroque period through the 20th century as well as interviews and documentaries focusing on opera.
Listen to world, folk and traditional music online.
Return to the top
Newspapers
Barrons ProQuest Digital Microfilm™
View Barrons in digital microfilm format from January, 2008.
CUFTS
Built by Simon Frazer University, CUFTS allows you to look up a journal title, see in which databases it is indexed, and what the date ranges of full-text coverage, if any, are. Once you've found your databases, view our alphabetical list to see if the Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh subscribes.
Infotrac Newsstand
This full-text newspaper resource allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, author, newspaper section or other fields, eliminating random searching through newspaper archives. InfoTrac Newsstand provides access to more than 1,000 major U.S. regional, national and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world.
The Jewish Criterion
The Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project from the Carnegie Mellon University Libraries features The Jewish Criterion (1895-1962). Two other Jewish newspapers, The American Jewish Outlook (1934-1962), and The Jewish Chronicle (1962-Present) will be added to the PJN database.
New York Times ProQuest Digital Microfilm™
View the New York Times in digital microfilm format from January, 2008.
Newspaper Archive
NO Remote Access
An historical newspaper database which contains newspapers from every state and 7 foreign countries- over 2,434 titles. The archive's newspapers date from 1759 to the present.
The Pittsburgh Catholic
Duquesne University is converting its microfilm collection of the Pittsburgh Catholic to digital. Currently, the first 10 years covering from March 16, 1844 through 1864 are available by browsing or searching the full-text.
The Pittsburgh Courier (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Explore local history with this full-text archive of The Pittsburgh Courier. Covers the years 1911-2002.
Pittsburgh Post-Gazette Website Search
Articles posted on post-gazette.com since 1998. Does not include the entire archives of the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette.
Pittsburgh Post-Gazette ProQuest Digital Microfilm™
View the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette in digital microfilm format from January, 2009.
Tribune-Review Website Search
Site search is limited to articles published on the website since 2001. Does not include all articles published by the Pittsburgh Tribune-Review.
USA Today ProQuest Digital Microfilm™
View USA Today in digital microfilm format from January, 2009.
Wall Street Journal ProQuest Digital Microfilm™
View the Wall Street Journal in digital microfilm format from January, 2008.
Return to the top
Photographs
AP Multimedia Archives
Current and historic photos and graphics from the Associated Press.
Historic Pittsburgh
View thousands of images documenting Pittsburgh history, as well as historic maps, and much, much more.
Return to the top
Pittsburgh
Access Pennsylvania On-Line Catalog
Publicly available shared catalog for materials owned by most Pennsylvania libraries.
Historic Pittsburgh
Search U.S. Census Schedules for the City of Pittsburgh (1850-1880) and Allegheny City (1850-1870), view images of historic Pittsburgh maps and photographs.
The Jewish Criterion
The Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project from the Carnegie Mellon University Libraries features The Jewish Criterion (1895-1962). Two other Jewish newspapers, The American Jewish Outlook (1934-1962), and The Jewish Chronicle (1962-Present) will be added to the PJN database.
The Pittsburgh Courier (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Explore local history with this full-text archive of The Pittsburgh Courier. Covers the years 1911-2002.
Pittsburgh Post-Gazette Website Search
Articles posted on post-gazette.com since 1998. Does not include the entire archives of the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette.
Pittsburgh Technology Council Member Directory
A searchable directory of the 1,400 Southwestern Pennsylvania member companies of the Pittsburgh Technology Council.
Sanborn Digital Fire Insurance Maps 1867-1970 - Pennsylvania
Sanborn fire insurance maps are the most frequently consulted maps in both public and academic libraries. Sanborn maps are valuable historical tools for urban specialists, social historians, architects, geographers, genealogists, local historians, planners, environmentalists and anyone who wants to learn about the history, growth, and development of American cities, towns, and neighborhoods.
Tribune-Review Website Search
Site search is limited to articles published on the website since 2001. Does not include all articles published by the Pittsburgh Tribune-Review.
Return to the top
Science & Technology
African American Experience
Full text information on African American history, including contributions in science, health & medicine.
Applied Science & Business Periodicals Retrospective: 1913-1983 (HW Wilson)
From the rise and fall of drugs such as Thalidomide to the business of oil, the evolution of satellite technology to the emergence of the global economy, this is a rich account of technological advances, business strategies, company profiles, iconic executives and scientists, and much more. This unique reference is the ideal single source for information on the most important events, issues, and trends in the history of business and industry.
Applied Science & Business Periodicals Retrospective features:
Citations to more than 4.5 million articles from more than 2,000 periodicals.
Updated subject headings, ensuring that a search using either old or new search terms will return all the information on that subject.
Original subject headings to offer insight into the way the issues of the day were framed.
Applied Science & Technology Full Text
Provides articles from major scientific and technical journals in all areas of engineering and technology, including topics ranging from acoustics to waste management.
American Physical Society (APS) Journals Online
NO Remote Access
Online access from within the library to full-text APS journals.
Academic OneFile
Need journal articles for a research paper, homework assignment, or professional / business project? Academic OneFile contains over 6,000 full-text articles from peer-reviewed sources, as well as more than 8,000 additional abstracts / citations. Additional materials include podcasts and transcripts from news outlets such as NPR, CNN, and CBC.
Global Issues in Context
Looking for high-quality information on current events and controversial issues? Global Issues in Context gathers together journal articles, news reports, and other sources of credible information on topics of worldwide interest. Explore all sides of society's most important issues with this full-text database. Great for students and concerned citizens alike!
GreenFILE (EBSCOhost)
This collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles on environmental issues. Topics include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling.
IEEE Xplore
NO Remote Access
Internet Bird Collection (IBC)
The Internet Bird Collection (IBC) is a non-profit endeavour with the ultimate goal of disseminating knowledge about the world's avifauna. It is an on-line audiovisual library of the world's birds (based on Handbook of the Birds of the World) that is available to the general public free of charge, though registration is required.
Salem Science
Online access to Salem Press's Forensics Science Reference. Science reference itles will be added to the Salem Science portal as purchased.
Science Full Text Select (HW Wilson)
100% full-text database covering the sciences. Includes the full text from 360 journals from Wilson's Applied Science, Biological & Agricultural, and General Science databases, as well as science related articles from other Wilson databases.
Science in Context
Magazine & journal articles, reference books, websites and more on science topics from biology to polymorphism.
Science Online (Facts On File)
Science Experiments and more. This database will not only help you find a science experiment, but it will provide definitions, diagrams, facts, timelines, and essays, too.
WorldWideScience.org
A global science gateway-accelerating scientific discovery and progress through a multilateral partnership to enable federated searching of national and international scientific databases and portals.
Return to the top
Not a CLP cardholder? Click here for eiNetwork databases.
|