Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh - Main (Oakland) will close at 3 pm on Friday, May 2. Customers may pick up holds or return items at the main entrance until 5 pm or visit other CLP locations.
small text medium text large text

Biography & Genealogy Databases

Library databases are searchable collections of up-to-date and accurate information from trusted sources such as encyclopedias, journals, reference books and other authoritative resources. The Library subscribes to these so you can access high-quality, reliable information for free.
Remote access is available for all databases except where otherwise noted.

Learn more...

Biography

Full text information on African American history and culture.
Remote Access (CLP Card)
Biographical information about African Americans, from the famous to the everyday person, including photographs and illustrations.
Comprehensive index to biographical reference works.
Mobile App
Full text biographical information.
Mobile App
Biographical and critical articles on current writers of fiction, nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama, motion pictures and television.

Up  Return to the top

 

Genealogy

Remote Access (CLP Card)
Biographical information about African Americans, from the famous to the everyday person, including photographs and illustrations.
NO Remote Access
A comprehensive source of information for conducting genealogical and local history research.
Remote Access (CLP Card)
A comprehensive source of information for conducting genealogical and local history research.
FOLD3
History and Genealogy Archives
NO Remote Access
Only available in the Pennsylvania Department of the Main Library. To access FOLD3 use the desktop icon on Pennsylvania Department PC's in the Main Libray.
Fold3 provides convenient access to US military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served, as well as access to naturalization records/indexes, city directories, historical newspapers and more. The Fold3 name comes from a traditional flag folding ceremony in which the third fold is made in honor and remembrance of veterans who served in defense of their country and to maintain peace throughout the world.
Multiple volume searching of 1500 reference works from Genealogical Publishing & Clearfield Companies. Out-of-print, hard-to-find reference materials all available to read, print, email or download! Sources include essential "how-to" works that help to build a good family tree; colonial period works identifying early American settlers and chronicling American immigration; royal and noble ancestry; histories and source records of Native American tribes.
Search U.S. Census Schedules for the City of Pittsburgh (1850-1880) and Allegheny City (1850-1870), view images of historic Pittsburgh maps and photographs.
Newspaper Archive (CLP Only)
NO Remote Access
An historical newspaper database which contains newspapers from every state and 7 foreign countries- over 2,434 titles. The archive's newspapers date from 1759 to the present.
Four series of passenger lists containing over 6 million names of immigrants from Germany, Italy, Russia and the famine years of Ireland.
Remote Access (CLP Card)
Sanborn fire insurance maps are the most frequently consulted maps in both public and academic libraries. Sanborn maps are valuable historical tools for urban specialists, social historians, architects, geographers, genealogists, local historians, planners, environmentalists and anyone who wants to learn about the history, growth, and development of American cities, towns, and neighborhoods.

>> More Genealogy Resources...