Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh - Main (Oakland) will close at 3 pm on Friday, May 2. Customers may pick up holds or return items at the main entrance until 5 pm or visit other CLP locations.
small text medium text large text

Databases for Pittsburgh

Library databases are searchable collections of up-to-date and accurate information from trusted sources such as encyclopedias, journals, reference books and other authoritative resources. The Library subscribes to these so you can access high-quality, reliable information for free.
Remote access is available for all databases except where otherwise noted.

Learn more...

Search U.S. Census Schedules for the City of Pittsburgh (1850-1880) and Allegheny City (1850-1870), view images of historic Pittsburgh maps and photographs.
The Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project from the Carnegie Mellon University Libraries features The Jewish Criterion (1895-1962). Two other Jewish newspapers, The American Jewish Outlook (1934-1962), and The Jewish Chronicle (1962-Present) will be added to the PJN database.
Duquesne University is converting its microfilm collection of the Pittsburgh Catholic to digital. As of August 2012, the first 79 years covering from March 16, 1844 through December 27, 1923 are available by browsing or searching the full-text.
The Pittsburgh Courier (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Remote Access (CLP Card)
Explore local history with this full-text archive of The Pittsburgh Courier. Covers the years 1911-2002.
Articles posted on post-gazette.com since 1998. Does not include the entire archives of the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette.
Remote Access (CLP Card)
View the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette in digital microfilm format from January, 2009.
A searchable directory of the 1,400 Southwestern Pennsylvania member companies of the Pittsburgh Technology Council.
Site search is limited to articles published on the website since 2001. Does not include all articles published by the Pittsburgh Tribune-Review.
Remote Access (CLP Card)
Sanborn fire insurance maps are the most frequently consulted maps in both public and academic libraries. Sanborn maps are valuable historical tools for urban specialists, social historians, architects, geographers, genealogists, local historians, planners, environmentalists and anyone who wants to learn about the history, growth, and development of American cities, towns, and neighborhoods.

>> More Pittsburgh Resources...