small text medium text large text

Books & Literature Research Databases

Logging on from home or work?

You can log into almost all of the databases listed below from outside the library using your library barcode number. If you don't have a library card, you may register for one online. Please make sure that you are accessing our site via this URL: http://www.carnegielibrary.org/.

Those databases specified with "No Remote Access" must be used from a computer inside the library. "Remote Access (CLP Card)" databases are only accessible with a Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh (CLP) library card. Click here if not a CLP cardholder.

Books

Access Pennsylvania
On-Line Catalog
  Available to Everyone
Shared catalog for materials owned by most Pennsylvania libraries.

 

ARBAOnline   Library Access   Remote Access
American Reference Books Annual online.

 

authors4.teens.com   Library Access   Remote Access
In-depth interviews with contemporary authors who write books for teens.

 

Book Source: Nonfiction   Library Access   Remote Access
Full text and summaries of nonfiction books covering social studies, science & other research topics for children Kindergarten through 12th grade

 

BookFLIX   Library Access   Remote Access
Read or listen to children's books online.

 

Naxos Spoken Word Library   Library Access   Remote Access
Listen to streaming audio of adult and children's classic fiction, non-fiction, plays, and poetry.
You must use the log out button when exiting this database, or future log-ins may be unsuccessful.


 

netLibrary   Library Access   Remote Access*
Full text electronic books (both text and audio).
For Remote Access you must create an account from within the library.

 

NoveList!   Library Access   Remote Access
Fiction database that helps you find books by subject, read reviews & annotations, get discussion guides and much, much more.

 

NoveList Plus   Library Access   Remote Access
NoveList Plus contains over 200,000 fiction and nonfiction titles for adults, teens, older and younger kids. Included are over 400 annotated book lists on high-interest topics, BookTalk for older kids and teens, and Book Discussion Guides.

 

Novelist K-8   Library Access   Remote Access
Use the title of your favorite books or your favorite author to find similar books.

 

Novelist K-8 Plus   Library Access   Remote Access
Novelist K-8 Plus offers reading suggestions with over 78,000 fiction and nonfiction titles for juvenile readers. It also includes Grab and Go Book Lists, BookTalks, Recommended Reads book lists, and Book Discussion Guides.

 

WorldCat   Library Access   Remote Access
Search the holdings of over 9,000 libraries at one time. If you find something that you want, and we don't have it, you can use Interlibrary Loan.

 

Literature

African American Experience   Library Access   Remote Access
Full text information on African American history and culture.

 

Contemporary Authors   Library Access   Remote Access
Biographical and critical articles on current writers of fiction, nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama, motion pictures and television.

 

Expanded Academic ASAP   Library Access  
Full-text articles and citations on all topics, from accounting to zoology.

 

Literature Resource Center   Library Access   Remote Access
Author information, literary criticism and plot summaries for authors from every age and literary discipline.

 

LitFinder   Library Access   Remote Access
Full text of poems, stories, essays, plays & speeches.

 

Naxos Spoken Word Library   Library Access   Remote Access
Listen to streaming audio of adult and children's classic fiction, non-fiction, plays, and poetry.
You must use the log out button when exiting this database, or future log-ins may be unsuccessful.


 

NoveList!   Library Access   Remote Access
Fiction database that helps you find books by subject, read reviews & annotations, get discussion guides and much, much more.

 

NoveList Plus   Library Access   Remote Access
NoveList Plus contains over 200,000 fiction and nonfiction titles for adults, teens, older and younger kids. Included are over 400 annotated book lists on high-interest topics, BookTalk for older kids and teens, and Book Discussion Guides.

 

Play Index   Library Access   Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Search by subject, genre, author, title or keyword to find publication information for more than 30,000 plays.