From Books to Bars with Frzy

 

As Pittsburgh heads into Summer Reading season, Emmy Award-winning rapper Frzy and Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh are excited to introduce a new video series, From Books to Bars!

Each day throughout the month of May, Frzy will introduce a favorite passage from a children’s book celebrating diversity and inclusion, while also highlighting Black, Brown and LGBTQIA+ authors. With a creative twist and dramatic flair, he will shine light on dynamic rhyming schemes and wordplay, turning these amazing quotes into even more amazing bars.

With books under attack, I just wanted to take my spot on the front lines as we fight back. Because, as they say “a child who reads, is an adult who thinks.” I’m here to see that it happens and I don’t intend to blink…….BARS!!!!

“If music is a universal language, then books are the accents.”

-Frzy

Follow along May 1 – 31 as Frzy and CLP post a new From Books to Bars video daily to Instagram (@frzy and @carnegielibrary) and TikTok, or keep an eye on carnegielibrary.org for each day’s featured book. Don’t forget to share your favorite From Books to Bars with friends online!


Frzy is a 2018 Emmy Award winner, noted as the third rapper in history to win an Emmy Award, and a 2020 Guinness World Record holder for longest freestyle rap at 31 hours. A Grammy nominee in 2023, he is member of The Recording Academy/GRAMMYS & Recording Academy/GRAMMYS board member for the Philadelphia Chapter. Frzy has also joined the board of directors of The Lindsay Theater and Cultural Center. He has been honored with an annual Frzy Day in Pittsburgh and a mural of his likeness in Braddock, PA. He’s done this all while being the face of Steve Madden’s “SelfMade” Campaign and a model for Calvin Klein. Through various projects he has helped raise over $1 million for charity including $60,000 for the Tree of Life, the location of the largest anti-semitic mass shooting.

Additional “From Books to Bars” collaborators include Grammy Award-winning producer Delroy “D-Roy” Andrews and OVA Award-winning actor Mark Ryes. 

 

What If...

Creativity, the power of imagination, and the importance of self-expression are celebrated in this inspiring picture book written and illustrated by real-life best friends.


You So Black

Based on Theresa Wilson’s beautiful, viral spoken word poem of the same name, You So Black is a picture book celebration of the richness, the nuance, and the joy of Blackness.


Bessie the Motorcycle Queen

A much-needed story about a Black woman who paved the way for future generations.


A is for Activist

An ABC board book written and illustrated for families and caregivers who want their kids to grow up in a space that is unapologetic about activism, environmental justice, civil rights, LGBTQIA+ rights, and everything else that activists believe in and fight for.


Welcome to the Party

Inspired by the eagerly awaited birth of her daughter, Kaavia James Union Wade, New York Times bestselling author and award-winning actress Gabrielle Union pens a festive and universal love letter from parents to little ones, perfect for welcoming a baby to the party of life!


My Voice Is a Trumpet

From voices tall as a tree to voices small as a bee, this story in rhyme illustrates how every voice deserves to be heard and has the potential to change the world. You can also check out this title as an eBook on OverDrive/Libby.


Big Bold Beautiful Me

Kids will find themselves standing side-by-side protagonists who portray body positivity in a loud, proud and very fun way!


Black is a Rainbow Color

Black Is a Rainbow Color is a sweeping celebration told through debut author Angela Joy’s rhythmically captivating and unforgettable words.


'Twas the Night Before Pride

This book shares age-appropriate descriptions about modern Pride celebrations and how they came to be, making it a great first introduction to LGBTQIA+ history. This title is also available for checkout as eAudio or a movie on Hoopla.

 


Antiracist Baby

From the National Book Award-winning author of Stamped from the Beginning and How to Be an Antiracist comes a new full-sized picture book that empowers parents and children to uproot racism in our society and in ourselves. You can also check out this title as eBook on OverDrive/Libby.


My Fade is Fresh

A little girl learns the importance of speaking up for what she wants while at the barbershop and ends up rocking the fabulous hair style she chooses in this fun and empowering picture book.


Jump In!

This bright, joyful picture book celebrates a community at play!


I Promise

I Promise delivers an uplifting message to children, emphasizing accountability and persistence. This title is also available as an eBook on OverDrive/Libby.


In the City

From Caldecott Award-winning and New York Times bestselling author Chris Raschka, this tender and fun-filled picture book celebrates unexpected friendship and city life from the perspective of pigeons!


Bathe the Cat

Follow Dad and Papa and their large, loving biracial family as they try to get some chores done—with no help from the family cat! This title is also available for checkout as an eBook on Hoopla.

 


Brown: The Many Shades of Love

In this loving ode to the color brown, a boy describes the many beautiful hues of his family, including his own—gingerbread.


A Tale of Two Daddies

In an affectionate story of adoption in a gay family, a small girl answers a friend’s questions about what it is like to have two fathers.


Whose Knees Are These?

A vibrant, multicultural board book that celebrates a baby’s sweet knees, for fans of Ten Tiny Fingers and Ten Little Toes.



The Me I Choose to Be

An uplifting story about self-confidence and a child’s limitless potential.


Your Special Voice

This empowering board book inspires young readers to use their own special voice to make a difference in the world.


Little Black Girl, Oh The Things You Can Do!

An empowering and joyous picture book by actress Kirby Howell-Baptiste that instills confidence and encourages little Black girls to reach for their wildest dreams.


Plenty of Hugs

Two mommies and their toddler spend a fun day going to the farm stand and the zoo before going home, taking a bath and going to bed. This cozy picture book is filled with plenty of joy, love and, of course, hugs. This title is also available for checkout as an eBook on Overdrive/Libby.

 


Cool Cuts

A joyful, positive, read-together book celebrating boys with natural black hair.


Little Black Boy: Oh, The Things You Will Do!

A little Black boy finds the courage to go after his dreams in this empowering and inspirational picture book by actress Kirby Howell-Baptiste with actor Larry Fields.


Jazz for Lunch!

Come on in, sit right down! Cuz Auntie Nina and her nephew are cooking up a symphony of food and sounds. The lip-smacking smells and be-bopping tunes might just get the whole neighborhood shimmying over to join in.


Song in the City

A charming and irresistibly fun picture book about a young blind girl and her grandmother who experience the vibrant everyday music of their busy city.


Indigo Dreaming

A gorgeous, imagination-sparking introduction to the beauty and interconnectedness of the Black diaspora.


I Am Enough

This gorgeous, lyrical ode to loving who you are, respecting others, and being kind to one another comes from Empire actor and activist Grace Byers and talented newcomer artist Keturah A. Bobo. Also available as an eBook and an eAudiobook.